Pine Technical and Community College, founded in 1965, has been continuously accredited since 1994. As a general rule, most institutions undergo a comprehensive evaluation by the Higher Learning Commission every 10 years. PTCC’s last visit was in 2018.

Following the continuous review process, Pine Technical and Community College has received a status of: Accredited 

Who Accredits Institutions of Higher Education?

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting, post-secondary educational institutions in the United States.

Institutions of higher learning voluntarily seek accreditation because it gives them public accountability and allows them to demonstrate and affirm the quality they regularly profess. Accreditation also affords institutions the opportunity to engage in a soul-searching process of internal evaluation and institutional improvement. HLC does not accredit specific programs such as automotive or nursing; only the institution as a whole.


What are the Guiding Values of HLC?

The Higher Learning Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation reflect a set of guiding values. HLC articulates these guiding values to offer a better understanding of the Criteria and the intentions that underlie them.

    1. Focus on student learning
    2. Education as a public purpose
    3. Education for a diverse, technological, globally connected world
    4. A culture of continuous improvement
    5. Evidence-based institutional learning and self-presentation
    6. Integrity, transparency, and ethical behavior or practice
    7. Governance for the well-being of the institution
    8. Planning and management of resources to ensure institutional sustainability
    9. Mission-centered evaluation
    10. Accreditation through peer review


Assurance Argument 2018   Federal Compliance Materials




Your Next Opportunity Awaits